Skip to main content

Planning Commission

Planning Commission

Meetings:  4th Tuesday of each month
Time:  1:00 PM
Location:  City Council Room, City Hall
118 Industrial Park Road
 Harrison, AR  72601




A  Planning Commission is a local appointed board charged with recommending to the city council the boundaries of the various original zoning district and appropriate regulations to be enforced therein and any proposed amendments thereto and shall collect data and keep itself informed as to the best practices generally in effect in the matter city planning and zoning to the end that it may be qualified to act on measures affecting the present and future movement of traffic, the segregation of residential and business districts and the convenience and safety of persons and property in any way dependent on city planning and zoning.

The chairperson or staff member of the Planning and Zoning Commission is responsible for publishing public hearings in the newspaper about certain matters that come before the commission. The Planning Commission consists of seven members. 

 The Planning and Zoning Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. 

Planning and zoning commissions may also be approving agencies for development permits and specific variances to the zoning code for development. Other jurisdictions may have separate zoning board of adjustments and appeals that perform the function instead of the planning and zoning commission doing it.